TP-027, Jerry Garcia / David Grisman wins a Writer's Choice Award from Myles Astor of Positive Feedback Online

Author Topic: Help my Technics RS 1520 just lost the left channel...  (Read 4865 times)

Offline Jettster

• View Profile
Help my Technics RS 1520 just lost the left channel...
« on: August 28, 2009, 08:05:16 PM »
Hi guys-newbie here to the forum and already have a dumb question.

I just got my last of 6 tapes-saxophone colossus-and fired up the deck-hadn't used it for a month or so...

No sound from the left channel-tried several things like cables, cleaning heads, cleaning controls, nothing but hiss if I crank the pre-all stock at this point-but no music.

Right channel sounds wonderful, lol...

Any ideas?

Thanks,

Jett

Offline ironbut

• Global Moderator
  • leader in spreading disinformation
  • rs1500>repro amp#1
    • View Profile
Re: Help my Technics RS 1520 just lost the left channel...
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2009, 10:05:33 PM »
Hi Jett, sorry about you troubles but welcome to the forum.

One thing that happens fairly often is the playback head selector switch on the headblock gets gummed up. Try switch that back and forth a few times. Do you get both channels with the 1/4 track head engaged?

Past that, switch the interconnects left to right to confirm that it's the machine. Then, try another tape to be sure that it's not the tape itself.
steve koto
 Sony scd 777es(R. Kern mods)> Vpi Aires>Dynavector XX-2mkll>Bent mu>CAT ultimate>CJ premeir 140>Magnepan 1.6qr(Jensen xover)Headphone Eddie Current Zana Deux>AT ad2000,HD800 ,Metric Halo ULN-2 (battery powered),
 HE Audio Jades

Offline steveidosound

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2009, 10:06:07 PM »
First, remove the Tape Project tape from the machine to keep it out of harm's way.