TP-027, Jerry Garcia / David Grisman wins a Writer's Choice Award from Myles Astor of Positive Feedback Online

Author Topic: Otari Troubles...  (Read 10299 times)

Offline Grant99

• View Profile
Otari Troubles...
« on: September 12, 2009, 11:24:37 PM »
Just recently got my Otari back from having the mods done. So I finally hooked it up to my new tube repro preamp (for the first time, rec'd it about a month ago I think).  Well...the great music was not to be; all I get for sound is some  hiss and very low level hum.

Now.  I'm just a layman & not technical at all but 25+ years of riding (& wiring) ancient motorcyles has taught me one thing for sure: when you have a problem, ALWAYS start looking at the most simple, obvious thing (duh!) before you move on to something more complicated.  So here are a couple of simple, dumb questions:
1) The Otari was rewired for direct output from the heads...so this output comes out of the LINE OUTPUT jacks on the back panel, correct?
2) I tried using both the RCA output and the XLR output; no difference, no sound output.
3)Was the deck actually test-run before it was shipped back to me?
4)My thinking is that I need to isolate the problem; i.e. is it the deck or is it the tube repro, correct?
5)So to do the above (4), can I test the output from these jacks using a voltmeter or ohmmeter, to verify if there is output from the deck?  What should I be looking for?
6) If I verify that the deck's output is OK is there a way to test the tube repro?  As I only have the Otari how about running the output from my turntable into it (Grad Sonata - 5MV version).  Is this doable?

Any suggestions will be appreciated...I really hope my problem is due to something obvious that I have overlooked...thanks in advance

Grant Thrasher
audio/LP/tape hobbyist
Otari MX-5050 BIII, VPI-19/SME IV, MFA Magus/MFA D75 amp/McAlister EA-8 amp/Stax OA2 & SR-404/Coincident Millenium Spks/Nak Dragon/Marantz PMD520/Sony KA1ESA

Offline ironbut

• Global Moderator