Check out the new Tape Project website at tapeproject.com, now with online ordering. Inventory is updated every week, so stop by often to see what we have in stock.

Author Topic: Otari MX-5050BII-2 Modification for Heads direct to XLR  (Read 14071 times)

Offline AZ_Gary

• View Profile
Otari MX-5050BII-2 Modification for Heads direct to XLR
« on: July 28, 2008, 11:48:33 AM »
I performed these mods to my machine and am very happy with the results. Doc, if you want to edit this for proper terminology, especially things like "terminal blocks", be my guest, I'm not an engineer.

This Otari is connected to the Seduction I recently built with the NAB/IEC equalization at the following link:

http://www.marklund.com/images/Audio/Bottlehead%20Gear/Tape%20Seduction%202/

Otari MX-5050-BII-2 tape head output modification:

These instructions assume the reader has the service manual for the Otari. My copy is Edition 8 dated October 1987.

Referring to the view in Figure 5-1 on page 5-2 lay the unit on its back, remove eight screws to remove the bottom plate and pull down the bottom panel providing access to the amplifier board, A10620B foldout, following page 10-1.

Using the circuit board diagram PB-16EB on page 8-3, unplug terminal blocks 9, 13 and 14. They are numbered on the blocks. The pin numbers are located on the board next to the PCB-mounted male connectors. Note these numbers. Loosen the screw that attaches a ground wire at at the right end of the chassis. Block 9 is the channel 1 and channel 2 connections from the heads. Pin 4 is channel 1, pin 1 is channel 2, pins 2 and 3 are grounds. Block 13 is the harness connecting the line output to the channel 1 XLR and block 14 is for channel 2.