TP-028, Nat Adderley's Work Song is now available

Author Topic: Otari MX5050 newbie questions  (Read 45724 times)

Offline squasher

• View Profile
Otari MX5050 newbie questions
« on: November 06, 2009, 11:00:31 PM »
I purchased an Otari MX5050 B2HD a week ago in the hopes of getting involved with the Tape Project. I am a complete newbie with regards to RTR, however, and have a few questions. Please bear with me.

1) My machine came without hubs of any kind. Correct me if I'm wrong, but I assume I need a pair before I can use the machine. I'm confused because all the Otari hubs I see (on ebay) are listed as '10" NAB hubs'. My initial assumption was that I wouldn't need the hubs if I were playing 7" tapes.

2) Should the guide roller (is this the impedance roller?) have a rubber surface similar to the pinch roller? My B2HD's guide roller is metal. Given that the aftermarket Athan impedance roller is made of a compliant material (polyurethane), doesn't that imply that my stock guide roller should be rubber as well?

3) How can I tell whether tapes are "tails in" or "tails out"? Or, in other words, how can I tell which side of the tape has the oxide on it? I've acquired a few commercial 7 1/2 ips recordings and can't tell how they've been wound on the reel (or which side to play).

Thanks in advance,
Chris
Chris Kniker

Offline ironbut

• Global Moderator
  • leader in spreading disinformation
  • rs1500>repro amp#1
    • View Profile
Re: Otari MX5050 newbie questions
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2009, 01:42:10 AM »
Hey Chris, welcome to the forum.

The NAB hubs are for 10.5" aluminum reels (there are also larger ones but they won't fit on your machine and are scarce as hen's teeth anyway).