Check out the new Tape Project website at tapeproject.com, now with online ordering. Inventory is updated every week, so stop by often to see what we have in stock.

Author Topic: OTARI recording level +4 dB vs. pre-amp outs of ?10 dB  (Read 5365 times)

Offline analogfan

• View Profile
OTARI recording level +4 dB vs. pre-amp outs of ?10 dB
« on: December 26, 2009, 08:16:06 AM »
OTARI recording level +4 dB vs. pre-amp outs of ?10 dB

I am new to pro-level decks, having recently acquired an OTARI 5050 B3. I have owned other R2R decks and cassette decks but have not run into this problem as they were consumer/prosumer level decks and the pre-amp tape-out levels matched the tape recorder, record-in levels.

The tape-out levels from my BAT VK30 pre-amp are ?10 dB or around .3V rms (I verified using a Nakamichi deck?s VU meters and can easily get 0 dB with the recording level pot at the 4 o?clock position).

My OTARI B3 is looking for a +4 dB input level or around 1.2 V rms for recording. I have to crank-up the record pot to about the 3 o?clock position to get 0 dB on the OTARI VU meter. I am assuming that I will have to re-align the recording electronics using a calibration tape (e.g. MTR) recorded at ?10 dB reference levels to re-calibrate the OTARI operating levels for ?10 dB? Is this correct?

Am I missing an easy solution or do I have to go the alignment route? Any other suggestions/comments are appreciated.

I have the OTARI operating manual which provides the alignment procedures and the required test equipment but will have to obtain an alignment tape. I have found vague references to ?operating levels? in the manual and on the Internet but nothing as to this specific problem and how to deal with it.

I will not be using this set-up for studio work ? only home recording and Tape Project playback.

Thank you ? any ideas would be appreciated.

Bob Edwards

Offline ironbut

• Global Moderator
  • leader in spreading disinformation
  • rs1500>repro amp#1