Can you believe it? Tape Project is ten years old! Thanks to everyone who has supported us in introducing studio quality tape reproduction to the audiophile community!

Author Topic: Quantegy 478 for music recording!  (Read 14411 times)

Offline Santi

• View Profile
    • blog
Quantegy 478 for music recording!
« on: May 03, 2010, 12:52:40 AM »
Hi !

i was thinking in buying a box of 478 audio tapes. I need to know if these tapes are ok for recording music!! any sugestion??

Thanks !
Santiago Gonz?lez

Offline ironbut

• Global Moderator
  • leader in spreading disinformation
  • rs1500>repro amp#1
    • View Profile
Re: Quantegy 478 for music recording!
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2010, 02:42:17 AM »
Hi Santi,

Although I have no first hand knowledge of 478 specifically, I'd be wary of any of the later production tapes from Ampex/Quantegy.
The reason I say this was Paul Stubblebine's statement a while back where he said that he didn't believe that Quantegy ever solved their sticky shed problems and he was having this problem even just a few months after use.
As I've stated in several posts, you may be able to get these old tapes for a bargain but it's not worth it if some or all of them are unusable or unplayable later on. It's much better to use some of the current production tape if you can.
steve koto
 Sony scd 777es(R. Kern mods)> Vpi Aires>Dynavector XX-2mkll>Bent mu>CAT ultimate>CJ premeir 140>Magnepan 1.6qr(Jensen xover)Headphone Eddie Current Zana Deux>AT ad2000,HD800 ,Metric Halo ULN-2 (battery powered),
 HE Audio Jades

Offline Santi

• View Profile
    • blog
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2010, 03:04:08 PM »
Hi !!! thank you so much for the advice...

wich current tape do you recommend me?

Santi!
Santiago Gonz?lez

Offline ironbut

• Global Moderator
  • rs1500>repro amp#1
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2010, 06:19:50 PM »
Hey Santi,

The Tape Project is using RMGI 468 which has a long track record for being an excellent tape.