Check out the new Tape Project website at tapeproject.com, now with online ordering. Inventory is updated every week, so stop by often to see what we have in stock.

Author Topic: Mastering of Classical titles  (Read 6435 times)

Offline classicrecordings

• View Profile
    • Classic Recordings
Mastering of Classical titles
« on: June 20, 2007, 09:46:13 AM »
I own the three classical recordings that are planned for release this year. All of them are superb in sound. They have wide open soundstages, a great dynamic range, and natural sound. e.g., wood sounds woody, and brass sounds brassy.

I am no engineer, and I have a limited understanding of the mastering process, though I do understand that multi track recordings can be mastered to end up with various mixes.

Can you tell me how the mastering of these three classical titles will change the sound of these recordings that I hear on playback through my turntable.

Will they sound basically the same, but better, or will there be noticable differences?

TIA, David
David Stangret
HK Citation 1 Pre-amp, Thorens TD-124, Ortofon 309S arm, SPU cartridges, mono block tube amps, Ars Acoustica LaDiva speakers, and I'm still trying to decide what machine to go with.
http://www.classicrecordings.ca

Offline Danny Kaey

• View Profile
Re: Mastering of Classical titles
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2007, 06:06:34 PM »
I guess if I understand you correctly you are inquiring as to how these 3 TP releases will compare to your vinyl issues?

thus...

if you have a decent tape deck, it will slaughter the vinyl issues - think Gladiator style slugg fest.

mass duped commercial reels absolutley kill vinyl versions of the same title on Tim's machine... take it up a notch or two with Barclay-Crocker reissues and you start to get the idea...

I know that Dan and the crew will do an outstanding job mastering/duplicating those tapes so you ought to be in for a real sonic treat!
SonicFlare
www.sonicflare.com

US Editor | The Inner Ear