TP-027, Jerry Garcia / David Grisman wins a Writer's Choice Award from Myles Astor of Positive Feedback Online

Author Topic: OTARI MX5050 mk3 HELP!!!!!  (Read 6346 times)

operator159

OTARI MX5050 mk3 HELP!!!!!
« on: September 06, 2010, 11:33:58 AM »
Hello,

I'm a bit of a noob, please forgive me if I ask any stupid questions.

I'm running a Tascam M-512 Mixer, I have the 8 buss outputs wired to a balanced 1/4 inch patch bay, which I then have patched in to my Otari MX 5050 mk3. I'm getting an outrageously quiet signal into my tape machine and I don't know why. When I patch the busses on my Tascam into my soundcard, they all sound great. I thought it may have been a problem with converting the XLR outputs to 1/4 inch, but when I wired an XLR directly from the buss to the tape machine, same problem. I'm wondering if it's a pin configuration problem? If it is, do I have to reconfigure the cables to match? is there some sort of way to use the grounding mechanisms for my patchbay? I believe my Otari is Pin 3 Hot, but I can't find a manual for the M-512.

Any help is GREATLY appreciated.

Thanks,
Nyles

Offline ironbut

• Global Moderator
  • leader in spreading disinformation
  • rs1500>repro amp#1
    • View Profile
Re: OTARI MX5050 mk3 HELP!!!!!
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2010, 12:03:02 PM »
Hi Nyles,

Welcome to the forum.
It does sound like a pin configuration problem since most gear is wired with pin 2 hot.
Since you wired it up yourself, just try switching pins 2 and 3 on your cable.
steve koto
 Sony scd 777es(R. Kern mods)> Vpi Aires>Dynavector XX-2mkll>Bent mu>CAT ultimate>CJ premeir 140>Magnepan 1.6qr(Jensen xover)Headphone Eddie Current Zana Deux>AT ad2000,HD800 ,Metric Halo ULN-2 (battery powered),
 HE Audio Jades

operator159

« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2010, 12:23:21 PM »
Can I use the grounding tabs for my patch bay to fix this? or do I have to re-solder the xlr connectors going to the tape machine?

Offline ironbut

• Global Moderator