Can you believe it? Tape Project is ten years old! Thanks to everyone who has supported us in introducing studio quality tape reproduction to the audiophile community!

Author Topic: otari 5050: impedance and output of the playback heads?  (Read 5167 times)

Offline monotube

• View Profile
otari 5050: impedance and output of the playback heads?
« on: December 30, 2012, 03:08:28 AM »
Hello,

I'm a newbie about reel to reel machines and I have bought an Otari 5050 first version, now perfectly calibrated, to play old 4 track prerecorded tapes ( and obviously 2 tracks... ). Actually it's only one curiosity, but I would like to know the characteristics of the two playback heads ( output tension and impedance ) to evaluate if I can modify one tube phono I have build time ago. I have read about Nab and IEC eq. and it's not a big problem  to substitute my old RIAA, I don't know if a step up transformer is a good choice for these playback heads. Many thanks to all

Offline stellavox

• View Profile
Re: otari 5050: impedance and output of the playback heads?
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2012, 11:13:15 AM »
Welcome monotube,