TP-028, Nat Adderley's Work Song is now available

Author Topic: Flat Copy?  (Read 8186 times)

Offline astrotoy

• View Profile
Flat Copy?
« on: November 05, 2016, 01:26:31 AM »
What is a flat copy?  I have a master copy which says "Flat Copy".    Thanks, Larry
Larry Toy CharterMember-BHReproTechnics1506/Akai747dbx/OtariMX5050B3-ClassicalVinylFreak-15Krecs-VPIHRXRimDrv-LyraSkala-HelikonMono-HerronVTSP3A/BHPhonoPre-PacificMicrosonics Model2 - Pyramix&MykerinosCard-OppoNE-Proceed AVP2+6/CVP2-CJ MET1-Cary 2A3SE-AvantgardeDuos-3Solos-VelodyneDD18Sub

Offline docb

• Administrator
  • leader in spreading disinformation
    • View Profile
    • Bottlehead Corp.
Re: Flat Copy?
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2016, 12:00:38 PM »
That means there was no EQ applied during the transfer.
Dan "Doc B." Schmalle
President for Life, Bottlehead Corp.
Managing Director - retired, The Tape Project

Offline stellavox

• View Profile
Q
« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2016, 04:42:32 PM »
Doc/Larry,

This is VERY interesting.  If you think about it - how do you TURN OFF playback or record equalization when playing back or recording a dub?  Ever seen a deck that could do this? The circuits I've seen ALWAYS have SOME EQ components switched in - you can switch in different value components to change that a bit  but because the parts are typically an integral part of a feedback network in the amplifier circuitry - SOMETHING has to be there.

I'd opine that it MAY mean whomever made the dub applied the "original - or same" EQ to the copy.

It should be "really easy" to determine if the dub is flat or equalized "somehow".  Listen to it using, say with NAB EQ switched in and let us know how it sounds.  If "flat" DOES mean un-equalized, then the tonal balance will be WAY off.

Charles   

Offline astrotoy

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 05, 2016, 04:55:23 PM »