TP-027, Jerry Garcia / David Grisman wins a Writer's Choice Award from Myles Astor of Positive Feedback Online

Author Topic: Recording levels Revox B-77 mk2.  (Read 11506 times)

Offline Rob mac

• View Profile
Recording levels Revox B-77 mk2.
« on: January 17, 2007, 09:50:23 PM »
Hi folks!
I'm relatively new to reel to reel.Been making a few tapes from vinyl with good sucssess.
Were I'm having issues is while recording.I monitor the vu meters and try to keep the peak levels around -6db.Each left/right vu meters have a overmodulation indicator and will flash red when the peaks are too high,so I try to keep it under that.When I playback the tape the levels are a fair bit higher with the lights flashing on the peaks.I guess I could just record at a lower level?
Can I adjust the meters or do I need test equipment for this?.
Also can I damage my tube amp or speakers by playing overmodulated tapes?.

Thanks for any help.
Rob Mcintosh,Vancouver b.c

Offline heideana

• View Profile
Re: Recording levels Revox B-77 mk2.
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2007, 12:36:17 PM »
Hi...I've been trying to stay at about -3 to -5 and have been "audtioning" my material to get just a bit of peaking with the red leds'.  I think the analog vu's can be 15db lagging on transient peaks, if I understand things correctly, so the -3 to -5 feel ok to me.

I think if there's a difference between your recording level and repro level that you need to have you machine serviced.  There's a discussion about seeting the levels, bias, etc...in the PR99 service manual, along with directions on servicing to make sure they are the same.  Caveat it that I think you need some special equipment.  In the past, I've seen it when I use a "hotter" tape then my machine is biased for.

Hope that helps....heidana

Studer A810 and Otari MTR-15...Klipsch CWIII's, KG2's & RF7's

Truth is a kind of error, so vaporize it to find your way to heaven, or at least to a smile...

Offline Rob mac

• View Profile