Can you believe it? Tape Project is ten years old! Thanks to everyone who has supported us in introducing studio quality tape reproduction to the audiophile community!

Author Topic: Tape types  (Read 9247 times)

Offline john

• View Profile
Tape types
« on: August 01, 2008, 11:00:14 AM »
Can anyone explain to me the differences in the various formulations, i am new to r2r but have used cassette tapes for years. One of the reasons cassette was able to close the gap with r2r was better tape stock eg, metal tape or chrome. My question is are any of the various r2r tapes available metal/chrome? and if not why not!! what do the numbers, 468,478,499, 900,911 and GP9 mean?

Thanks, John.
John Taylor

Revox C270, Teac X-2000R, Technics RS1506, RS7500, Nakamichi Dragon, CR7E, Sony WM-D6C, Sony EL7 ( Elcaset! ) Brinkmann balance, Brinkmann Ti Cart, Clearaudio Balanced Ref, Esoteric XO1-D2, ARC Ref3, Ref 210, JM Lab Micro Utopia Be and Jas Audio Plato.

Offline ironbut

• Global Moderator
  • leader in spreading disinformation
  • rs1500>repro amp#1
    • View Profile
Re: Tape types
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2008, 05:33:42 PM »
Hi John, welcome to the forum. Regarding the formulas, here's a link to RMGI spec sheets via US Recording Media's web site. That's what those numbers at the end of your post are. As to why they never made (or if they ever made) metal tape, I don't recall but it may have been answered here before. There is quite a bit of info in a sticky above the General forum and the link for MRL labs is very heavy on the tape and tape to head interface.
http://usrecordingmedia-store.stores.yahoo.net/datasheets.html
steve koto
 Sony scd 777es(R. Kern mods)> Vpi Aires>Dynavector XX-2mkll>Bent mu>CAT ultimate>CJ premeir 140>Magnepan 1.6qr(Jensen xover)Headphone Eddie Current Zana Deux>AT ad2000,HD800 ,Metric Halo ULN-2 (battery powered),
 HE Audio Jades

Offline High and Outside

• Administrator
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2008, 09:50:09 PM »