TP-027, Jerry Garcia / David Grisman wins a Writer's Choice Award from Myles Astor of Positive Feedback Online

Author Topic: Need some help - please!  (Read 14845 times)

Offline Spirit84

• View Profile
Need some help - please!
« on: August 23, 2008, 03:37:48 PM »
I am a subscriber to the Tape Project, and I must admit that I am not a technical expert when it comes to R2R.  I have received 5 TP tapes but have not been able to use my newly restored Studer A810 because on an ongoing problem with other parts of my system.  You can only imagine how frustrating this is!  Having the tapes staring me in the face, but not being able to play them.
Anyways - a friend of mine who owns a high-end audio store, asked me to bring over the Studer to his shop to listen, so I did this today.
We set the the EQ to CCIR and played the Robert Cray tape.  There were 3 of us listening and I have to admit that we were all surprised because the tapes sounded quite awful which really surprised and upset me.  We switched the EQ to NAB and it actually sounded better, but certainly not great.
Comments from the 3 of us were words like:  Phase problem, lifeless, dull, etc...
What am I doing wrong.  I expected to be blown away but now I am very down and depressed. 
Am I missing something here?  My Studer is in superb condition having been completely refurbished by a Studer expert tech.
BTW for the record - we rewound the tape onto the tak-up reel (the empty one) and then played the tape back onto the TP reel.  I assume that is correct.
I really would appreciate some help - PLEASE
Sam G.
Apogee Duetta Signatures, Odyssey Audio Monoblocks (4), Marchand XM44 Xover, Mapletree Audio Pre, Wright Sound Phono, Ariston RD11s TT with Origin Live DC Motor and Rega RB300 arm (Origin Live modded), Sumiko Bluepoint Special #2, Sony DVP9000es SACD (Vacuum State modded Level 6)

Offline ironbut

• Global Moderator
  • leader in spreading disinformation
  • rs1500>repro amp#1
    • View Profile