TP-028, Nat Adderley's Work Song is now available

Author Topic: The McPartlands Live at the Monticello  (Read 8334 times)

Offline ironbut

• Global Moderator
  • leader in spreading disinformation
  • rs1500>repro amp#1
    • View Profile
The McPartlands Live at the Monticello
« on: November 15, 2008, 06:51:20 PM »
I've been chasing this Halcyon/BC tape for a couple of years now and I finally got one. I'd never heard it but I've heard Marian in concert before and she's a joy. This is one of the only Barclay-Crockers that I've read a formal review on. It was an absolute rave and was in an old issue of The Audio Amateur I have around. The music runs from Dixieland w/vocals to almost bop but the energy and fun that the players are having is totally infectious. The sound is just outstanding (aside from a microphone glitch or two) and for some reason or other it sounds totally balanced without the Dolby decoder that it originally asked for ( tape age or the original recording?). All the solos are flawless and the rhythm section is just outstanding. What more can I say, if you have a chance to, snatch one up for yourself. Just 8 great musicians have a good time in front of their peers.
steve koto
 Sony scd 777es(R. Kern mods)> Vpi Aires>Dynavector XX-2mkll>Bent mu>CAT ultimate>CJ premeir 140>Magnepan 1.6qr(Jensen xover)Headphone Eddie Current Zana Deux>AT ad2000,HD800 ,Metric Halo ULN-2 (battery powered),
 HE Audio Jades

Offline xcortes

• View Profile
Re: The McPartlands Live at the Monticello
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2008, 10:15:54 PM »
Steve,

you're still listenining to your BCs without dolby units? I've been meaning to buy one or two but the idea of adding a dolby decoder has kept me from that. Still they look like THE option to build a music library to make more use of our tape related hardware.
Xavier Cortes

Offline mstcraig

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2008, 09:23:23 PM »