TP-028, Nat Adderley's Work Song is now available

Author Topic: Classical Music Subscription Series  (Read 16606 times)

Offline astrotoy

• View Profile
Re: Classical Music Subscription Series
« Reply #15 on: January 30, 2009, 12:02:07 PM »

[/quote]

I agree that classic rock is where the TP catalog is weakest, and as a child of the 70s I'd like to see some of that.  I'm no expert on the music business, but with the record labels hurting as much as they are, you'd think they'd be anxious for any new source of revenue.  And there are precedents - MoFi managed to release the Beatles!  I'm sure I'm not the only one who'd go nuts over a TP tape of Revolver, although I'd expect the demand for something like that would overwhelm the TP.

One approach could be to try to contact musicians who are into sound quality, and could take an interest in what the TP is doing.  Two who come to mind are Neil Young and Steely Dan. 
[/quote]

Bob has an interesting point. With the vinyl reissues of classic pop and rock on vinyl there is no issue about the installed base of equipment and a typical issue cost of $30 or so for the vinyl pressing. With a universe of 15 ips 2 track IEC EQ tape players much much smaller and a cost of +-$250-300 per album the risks are much higher.  Also I have not been as impressed with the sonic qualities of 60's pop/rock compared to the classical records. The MoFi Beatles box made the Absolute Sound Super Disc list for exactly one issue. Harry Pearson later admitted that he had made a mistake in assessing the sound quality and deleted it from the list. I have the box, and I agree with HP - not that great. On the other hand, our TP pros know more about getting the original sound from the master tape than anyone else and there are not the vagaries of vinyl production. Some of the great sounding stuff that has great artistic merit has been mentioned in other threads - Joni Mitchell Blue, much of early Joan Baez, Jennifer Warnes Raincoat and others.