TP-027, Jerry Garcia / David Grisman wins a Writer's Choice Award from Myles Astor of Positive Feedback Online

Author Topic: Library wind on Studer Revox C270  (Read 10135 times)

Offline C_Campbell

• View Profile
Library wind on Studer Revox C270
« on: March 28, 2009, 04:53:09 AM »
Hello all,

This is my first post here. I have substantial experience with open-reel recorders, having begun using a Tandberg and then a Nagra for field work along with a variety of studio decks for documentary and multi-image projects with my father as a teenager in the 1970s. I am now an artist (painter, photographer), but am still involved with audio, and currently engaged in beginning to digitize an archive of some six hundred tapes of spoken voice from the late 1950s and 1960s. Equipment-wise, I'm using an Otari MX-5050 BIII-2 to play back a handful of 1/4 track tapes, but the primary deck is a Studer Revox C270 1/2 track deck which I purchased in 1991. From the C270, I'm doing a 24/96 A/D conversion via Apogee Duet to MacPro, editing in BIAS Peak Pro 6.

I have long been familiar with the practice of storing tapes tails out, after playback at normal speed, so as to produce the flattest and smoothest tape wind possible. However, in studying the written material for the C270, I have discovered three references to an actual "library wind" function that I had never noticed previously:

1. Sales brochure. Listed in the original sales brochure for the C27x series, under "Transport Functions," as one of the machine's functions is:

? Selectable library wind

2. Operating Instructions. In the C270 operating instructions, on page 32, the possible settings of the DIP switches are listed. 

Nr 3 ? ON ? Library mode wind on
     Nr 3 ? OFF ? Normal operation, library mode wind off

3. Service Manual. In the full C270 service manual, on page 3/2, is found the most detailed reference to the function of DIP switch 3: