Check out the new Tape Project website at tapeproject.com, now with online ordering. Inventory is updated every week, so stop by often to see what we have in stock.

Author Topic: Advice on choosing a recorder thats best for a specific movie score  (Read 6020 times)

Offline TEM

• View Profile
Hi all, first post here and I'm looking for some advice on finding a recorder (or recorders) that would be suitable for a particular project that I am about to embark upon.

I'm a composer and musician working from my own studio in London and I've been commissioned to provide a soundtrack for a low budget movie where sound and analogue recording are key elements of plot. I can't reveal too much at this stage but even the title of the movie is regarding audio and throughout the movie one of the central themes concerns analogue recordings to tape and a crime that is solved using the tapes.

I don't want the soundtrack to come across as low-fi or hissy, dirty or badly recorded, but I do want to give the movie a sprinkling of that classic character, which is synonymous with analogue tape. At some moments in the movie I want this character to be really obvious and exaggerated, but at others times I want it to be extremely subtle.

Its been some time since I last used tape during my days at university when I experimented with Uhers and multitracks; by the time I graduated digital had taken over. I don't have any tape recorders here at my studio (I'm all DAW, using Lavry A/D D/A) and hence I am in search of a reel to reel recorder or maybe even a few different devices. Unfortunately I don't have much of a budget and want to limit myself to less than ?2000 for any tape related investments.